At the Annual Meeting of Electors of the Board of Education of the Regina School Division No. 4 of Saskatchewan, held at 1600 4th Avenue.

Mr. Adam Hicks

Mr. Jay Kasperski Ms. Aleana Young

Members Present Mrs. Cindy Anderson
Dr. Jane Ekong
Mrs. Tanya Foster

Mrs. Katherine Gagne

Administration

Mr. Greg Enion, Director of Education

Present

Ms. Naomi Mellor, Deputy Director, Division Services/CFO Mr. Darren Boldt, Deputy Director, Student Achievement

Call to Order

Mrs. K. Gagne, Chair of the Board of Education of the Regina School Division No. 4 of Saskatchewan, called the meeting to order and welcomed all in attendance.

Election of Chairperson for the Meeting Ms. Naomi Mellor, Deputy Director, Division Services/CFO of the Board of Education of the Regina School Division No. 4 of Saskatchewan, invited nominations for the election of a Chairperson for the Annual Meeting of Electors. Mrs. K. Gagne was nominated by Mrs. Angie Balkwill.

Motion by Mrs. Lisa Frei:

That nominations cease.

Motion Carried.

Mrs. K. Gagne was declared elected by acclamation to serve as Chairperson of the Annual Meeting of Electors.

Election of Secretary for the Meeting Mrs. K. Gagne, Chairperson of the meeting, then called for nominations for the appointment of a Secretary for the Annual Meeting of Electors. Ms. Naomi Mellor was nominated by Ms. Morgan Reed.

Motion by Mr. Jason Coleman:

That nominations cease.

Motion Carried.

Ms. Naomi Mellor was declared elected by acclamation to serve as Secretary of the Annual Meeting of Electors.

Mrs. K. Gagne then welcomed questions or comments from ratepayers and others.

Chair	S/T

Comments and/or Questions from Regina Ratepayers and from Others Ms. Kathleen Eisler inquired on the determination of enrolment projections. Mr. Greg Enion, Director of Education, advised that the School Division works with Barager Demographics to calculate long-term enrolment projections and that the Division's Planning Department reviews the projections with Barager on an annual basis.

Ms. Ida Sadowski inquired how School Community Councils can support advocacy for additional support for the Division. Mrs. K. Gagne advised that, through the Communication and Advocacy Committee, the Board is developing an advocacy plan, and that, upon completion, more information and talking points will be forwarded to SCCs to join the Board in advocating on behalf of the Division. Mrs. C. Anderson, Trustee, also noted that advocacy can involve parents who are not on SCCs.

Ms. Kathleen Eisler inquired on the projected facility capacity to 2021. Mrs. K. Gagne advised that the Board continually discusses facility capacities, noting that the Division has requested more schools through its priority list submitted to the Ministry of Education. She further noted that many options are regularly explored, pointing to the creation of the Martin Academy and the Balfour Arts Collective as examples to take pressure off of other facilities, and affirmed that the Administration will provide the Board with recommendations to address the matter. Ms. Eisler inquired if the projections are just for high school facilities or if it is Division-wide. Mrs. Gagne advised that, currently, it will be high school facilities primarily impacted by enrolment increases in the next few years. She noted that there have been recent discussions with the Ministry of Education about the addition of a southeast high school. Mr. Greg Enion advised that the Division continues to use relocatable classrooms to ease capacity pressures, and that the Board has lobbied the Ministry for approval of same prior to the provincial budget to ease the constraint of having them in place in time for the next school year. He further commented that attendance boundaries are reviewed annually. He stated that, as the Board does not have the authority to levy a mill rate, the Division relies entirely on the province approving any new schools and, with continued enrolment increases, the challenge to balance facility capacity will persist if new schools are not built.

Adjournment

Chairperson

Mrs. K. Gagne thanked everyone for attending and then called for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Secretary-Treasurer

Motion Carried.