	At a meeting of the Board of Education of Saskatchewan, held at 1600 4th Avenue.	-
Members Present	Dr. Barbara Young, Chair Mrs. Angela Fraser, Vice-Chair Mrs. Cindy Anderson Ms. Carla Beck	Mrs. Katherine Gagne Mr. Tim Stobbs Mr. Dale West
Administration Present	Mr. Don Hoium, Director of Education Ms. Debra Burnett, Deputy Director, Division Services, & Secretary-Treasurer Mr. Ross Brown, Deputy Director, Instruction and School Services	
	The Chairperson called the meeting to or agenda. It was requested that the following SSBA Board Development Advisory Com	ing items be added: Announcement and
Adoption of Agenda	Motion by Mrs. A. Fraser:	
	That, with the additions requested, the agenda be adopted.	
		Motion Carried.
Approving of Minutes	The Chairperson then asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting held on April 13, 2010. Motion by Mrs. C. Anderson:	
	That the minutes of the Board meeting of distributed.	f April 13, 2010, be approved as
		Motion Carried.
Structural Innovation School Presentation	Mr. Blair Gullickson, Principal, and Ms. overview of the structural innovation mo 2009-10 school year. Mr. Gullickson ou plan, and noted the key focus on inquiry- class-based and school-wide inquires, co utilization of technology. Ms. Sabo high math lab, guided reading groups, writing health and physical education classes, an Mr. Gullickson noted the role of technolo of Smart Boards, Skype, and computer ca Touch pilot in the 2010-11 school year. teacher collaboration and team teaching, teacher preparation times, dedicated staff groups, and teacher moderation and discu Mr. Gullickson concluded by reflecting of on-going implementation of the Interven	del at W. S. Hawrylak School for the tlined the three-year implementation based learning, including individual, mmon language and practices, and the lighted flexible groupings, including a and literature circles, gender-based d groupings within classrooms. ogy in enhanced learning, with the use arts, and plans to introduce an iPod Ms. Sabo emphasized the importance of including block timetabling, paired f meeting time to grade leveled learning ussion of assessment data. on inclusive practices, encompassing the



	support, enhanced First Nations and Métis content, adoption of language and practices for self-regulation, and meeting the individual learning needs of students. Mr. Gullickson and Ms. Sabo responded to questions relative to common preparation times, student achievement in gendered classes, and parent engagement. Board members expressed appreciation for the presentation.
Public Presentation	The Board received a presentation from Ms. Patricia Elliott, Mr. Rene Dumont and Mr. Rick Hesch relative to the "Advocating for Our Children, Our Schools and Our Communities" Workshop held in Regina on March 14, 2010. Ms. Elliott noted that 30 people had attended the workshop, and provided a report on the main issues that emerged therefrom. Clarification relative to student assessment concepts and procedures was provided. Board members expressed appreciation for the presentation and Mr. Don Hoium, Director of Education, welcomed further discussion with him personally on many of the issues raised.
2010 Annual Meeting Agenda	A draft copy of the agenda for the May 11, 2010, Annual Meeting had been distributed.
	Motion by Mr. D. West:
	That the draft agenda for the Annual Meeting of Electors of the Board of Education of the Regina School Division No. 4 of Saskatchewan, to be held at 7:00 p.m. on May 11, 2010, at the Regina Public School Board Office, 1600 4th Avenue, Regina, be approved.
	Motion Carried.
	Motion Carned.
Facilities: SaskPower Utility Fasement	A request from SaskPower regarding execution of an easement agreement relative to the Arcola School property had been distributed. Ms. Debra Burnett, Deputy Director, Division Services, provided additional information.
SaskPower	A request from SaskPower regarding execution of an easement agreement relative to the Arcola School property had been distributed. Ms. Debra Burnett,
SaskPower Utility	A request from SaskPower regarding execution of an easement agreement relative to the Arcola School property had been distributed. Ms. Debra Burnett, Deputy Director, Division Services, provided additional information.
SaskPower Utility	A request from SaskPower regarding execution of an easement agreement relative to the Arcola School property had been distributed. Ms. Debra Burnett, Deputy Director, Division Services, provided additional information. <u>Motion by Mr. T. Stobbs</u> : That the Board of Education of the Regina School Division No. 4 of Saskatchewan authorize execution of the Utility Easement with SaskPower
SaskPower Utility	A request from SaskPower regarding execution of an easement agreement relative to the Arcola School property had been distributed. Ms. Debra Burnett, Deputy Director, Division Services, provided additional information. <u>Motion by Mr. T. Stobbs</u> : That the Board of Education of the Regina School Division No. 4 of Saskatchewan authorize execution of the Utility Easement with SaskPower relative to the Arcola School property.



page 3

Closed Session	Motion by Mrs. C. Anderson:
Session	That we go into closed session.
	Motion Carried.
	Motion by Mr. D. West:
	That we rise and report.
	Motion Carried.
	At the conclusion of closed session, the Committee of the Whole recommended to the Board:
Meeting Adjournment Time	 That the April 27, 2010, Board meeting be authorized to continue beyond the 9:30 p.m. presumptive adjournment time.
	Motion by Mrs. C. Anderson:
	That recommendation No. 1 (above) from the Committee of the Whole be approved.
	Motion Carried.
	At the conclusion of closed session, the Committee of the Whole reported progress with respect to consideration of <i>Long Service Dinner 2010 Draft Program, Renewal Discussion</i> and <i>SSBA Board Development Advisory Committee</i> . The progress reports were accepted.
Adjournment	The Chairperson advised that this concluded the business of the meeting and called for a motion to adjourn.
	Motion by Mrs. A. Fraser:
	That the meeting adjourn.
	Motion Carried.
	Time of meeting: 7:00 to 9:48 p.m.

Chairperson

Secretary-Treasurer